

# Application for Registration of a Dental Laboratory

#### **TEXAS STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS**

333 Guadalupe, Tower 3, Suite 800 Austin, Texas 78701-3942 (512) 463-6400 / Fax: (512) 463-7452 www.tsbde.texas.gov licensinghelp@tsbde.texas.gov

INSTRUCTIONS: Submit a fully completed application. An incomplete application will delay your application approval process. All fields are required. Completion certificate of the Texas Jurisprudence Assessment taken by the Lab Owner or Lab General Manager must be attached. You may enter N/A to those questions that are not applicable.

□ Yes

□ No

FEE: \$125

PERSONAL CHECK OR MONEY ORDER IS ACCEPTABLE

LAB OPERATING NAME					
LAB ASSUMED NAME* (Provide If An					
Assumed Name Certificate (Doing Business As =					
DBA) Is On File With The Texas Secretary Of					
State's Office.		0: /0: /	17: 0 1		
Physical Address		City/State	Zip Code		
Lab Phone #	Lab email address	<u> </u>	1		
W 1 2 11		15.01			
Website address		Date the la	ab opened, or will open for business		
Laboratory is: (√ check one)		I			
	owner 🗆 Partnersl	nip 🗆 Co	rporation		
If the lab is part of a partnership, give the n	name of the partnership com	pany, state in whic	h partnered, and the percent of stock the		
owned: (or enter n/a)					
PARTNERSHIP NAME	STATE PARTN	ERED	% STOCK OWNED		
If a subsidiary corporation, give the name of	of the parent company, state	in which corporate	ed, and the percent of stock the parent		
company owns in subsidiary: (or enter n/a)					
PARENT COMPANY NAME	STATE INCORPO	DRATED	% STOCK OWNED		
			1		
Has the applicant completing this application	on ever held a dental lab	If yes, pro	ovide the Texas Dental Lab #		
registration in Texas? (√ Check One)					
LABORATORY OWNER INFORMATION					
Owner Name	_				
B) : 14.11		1 0:: /0: :	17:01		
Physical Address		City/State	Zip Code		
Owner Phone #	Owner email addr	ess			
		T ==			
Has the Lab Owner ever held a Dental Lab	registration in Texas? (√ Che	ck One) If yes, pro	ovide the Texas Dental Lab #		

LABORATORY GENERAL MANAGER INFORMA	TION: IF THE LAB M	IANAG	ER IS T	HE SAME A	S THE OW	NER ENTER '	'SAME"	
General Manager Name								
Physical Address		City/State				Zip Code		
General Manger Phone #	al Manger Phone # General Manager email a			I address				
Has the General Manager ever held a Dental Lab Registration in Texas? (√ Check One)			If yes, please provide the Texas Dental Lab #					
□ 163	l NO							
Disciplinary Action or Criminal Offenses All "Yes affidavit. The affidavit should include all relevant da any of the requested information may result in the company of the requested in	tes and identify the re	elevant	jurisdic	tion and/or e	entity involve			
Has the Lab Owner or Manger been arrested, charged, indicted, convicted, properties of a misdemeas felony?				Lab Owner		Lab Manager		
			r or	□ YES	□NO	□ YES	□NO	
Has the Lab Owner or Manager been the subject of a disciplinary investigation or action (including a cease and desist order) from any licensing authority or jurisdiction?				Lab Owner  □ YES □ NO		Lab Ma	anager	
Has the Operating Lab Name or Lab Assumed Name ever been investigated, board order by the Texas State Board of Dental Examiners?			given a	Operating Lab Name		Lab Assum	ned Name	
ATTESTATION  Title 22, Texas Administrative Code §116.3 state the TSBDE, in writing, within 60 days of: (1) a collection of the laboratory; (3) closure of the laboratory is exempted under proof within six (6) months of the change that the change in mailing address for the owner or mail lattest that I am familiar with the laws and rules.	change in ownershiporatory; (4) a change §116.5 of the TSBI he designated empirager of the labora	p or m ge of c DE Ru bloyee tory.	nanager designa les. A c meets	ment of the ted CDT. (5 change of decontinuing e	laboratory 5) a change esignated e education r	; (2) a change of designate employee wil requirements	e in ed I require ; or (6) a	
Jurisprudence Assessment, dated within the owner or laboratory general manager.								
ste Signature of Dental Laboratory Owner or General Manager							ger	
STATE OF COUNTY OF								
Before me, the undersigned authority, on this who being by me sworn upon oath says that and correct. Sworn and subscribed to before	all the facts, stater me, the said	nents	and an	swers cont	ained in th	is application		
day of, 20, to certify which witness my hand and seal of office.								
		Signa	ture of I	Notary Publ	lic			

(Seal)

Certified Dental Technician (CDT) of Record: This section must be completed by the CDT of record. If the Lab employs 3 or more employees, a CDT of Record is required. Attach a copy of the current renewal card.

Dental Lab CDT Requirements: A dental laboratory is not required to have a CDT if it meets the following requirements:

- 1. The dental lab is owned by a licensed dentist engaged in the practice of dentistry in this state or by a professional corporation or partnership in which that dentist is an officer, partner, or employee; or
- 2. The dental lab is located on the premises within which the dentist practices dentistry; or
- 3. The laboratory was registered with the TSBDE on September 1, 1987, has renewed each year and all registration fees have been paid; beneficial ownership of at least 51% interest in the lab has not transferred and the owner or designated employee of the lab is employed on the premises of the lab for at least 30 hours per week.

			•				
CDT of Record Name			CDT Number				
CDT Issue Date			CDT Expiration Date				
Physical Address		City/State		Zip Code			
CDT of Record Phone #	CDT of	Record email	address				
m the CDT of Record for another Dental Lab registered in Texas? (√ Checke)  ☐ Yes ☐ No			If yes, please provide the Texas Dental Lab #				
<b>CDT of Record Attestation:</b> Chapter 266 of the Te Administrative Code require that in order to qualify f Certified Dental Technician, who must be on premis	or regist	ration by the	TSBDE, a commercia				
I attest that I will be the Certified Dental Technician	(CDT) o	f record for th	ne following dental lab	ooratory:			
(Name of the Dental Laboratory listed on Page 1 of	this app	lication.)					
I understand that the TSBDE Rules and Regulation week for each Texas registered dental laboratory currently registered with the National Board of Certiunderstand that if I cease employment with a Texas this change so my CDT credential will be removed true and correct to the best of my knowledge.	I serve ification sregister	as CDT of F (NBC) or oth red dental lat	Record for. My CDT of er TSBDE-recognized poratory that I will imm	credential is active and I am d credentialing organization. I nediately notify the TSBDE of			
Date			Signature of Certifie	d Dental Technician			
STATE OF COUNTY OF							
Before me, the undersigned authority, on this day who being by me sworn upon oath says that all the and correct. Sworn and subscribed to before me, day of, 20, to certify which	e facts, the said	statements a	and answers containe				
			Signature of Notary	Public			

#### **General Information:**

Dental Laboratories are required to annually renew by December 31 of each year. The lab <u>may not operate until</u> <u>the registration is brought into a Current/Active status</u>. The lab may reopen again <u>after</u> you have received your updated registration certificate and display it where services are provided.

Jurisprudence Assessment: The Jurisprudence Assessment must be taken by the laboratory owner or the laboratory's general manager. The Assessment is required once every 3 years. If you need assistance in finding the date of your last assessment please visit: <a href="https://txn.esslearning.com/catalogs/tsbde/">https://txn.esslearning.com/catalogs/tsbde/</a>. To purchase the SBDE Jurisprudence Assessment visit: <a href="https://txn.esslearning.com/catalogs/tsbde/">https://txn.esslearning.com/catalogs/tsbde/</a>. To purchase the SBDE Jurisprudence Assessment visit: <a href="https://txn.esslearning.com/catalogs/tsbde/">https://txn.esslearning.com/catalogs/tsbde/</a>. To purchase the SBDE Jurisprudence Assessment a Certificate of Completion can be printed that lists a National Board of Certification (NBC) in Dental Laboratory Technology Continuing Education Course Number. The NBC will award one (1) hour of Professional Development Credit for completing this assessment. The TSBDE Jurisprudence Assessment is through the TSBDE website.

## Certified Dental Technician Required In accordance with the TSBDE Rule 116.5:

- a) All dental laboratories must have a CDT employed by and working on the premises of the dental laboratory a minimum of 30 hours per week.
- b) A dental laboratory is exempt from subsection (a) of this section if the laboratory is:
  - 1) Owned by a licensed dentist engaged in the practice of dentistry in this state or by a professional corporation or partnership in which that dentist is an officer, partner, or employee; and
  - 2) Located on the premises within which the dentist practices dentistry.
- c) The exemption under subsection (b) of this section does not apply to a dental laboratory if the laboratory employs three or more dental technicians.
- d) A dental laboratory is exempt from subsection (a) of this section if:
  - 1) The dental laboratory was registered with the TSBDE on September 1, 1987;
  - 2) The dental laboratory's registration has been renewed each year and all registration fees have been paid:
  - 3) The beneficial ownership of at least 51% interest in the laboratory has not transferred; and
  - 4) The owner and/or the designated employee of the dental laboratory is employed on the premises of the laboratory for at least 30 hours per week.
- e) The owner of the dental laboratory shall maintain employment records validating compliance with this section for a period of not less than two years.

**Penalties** If the owner or manager of a dental laboratory fails to renew the registration before the registration date (January 1) the TSBDE shall suspend the expired registration certificate of the lab. An owner or manager may renew the expired registration within the first 90 days by paying the required renewal fee (\$136) plus a penalty equal to one-half of the initial registration fee (\$65.50). If the registration has been expired for more than 90 days, but less than one year, the required renewal fee plus a penalty equal to the amount of the initial registration (\$65.50) must be submitted. If the registration has been expired for one year or longer, the registration may not be renewed.

Renewing an Expired Dental Laboratory Registration Certificate A Registered Dental Laboratory renewing a registration certificate that is expired must pay all past annual renewal fees in order to bring the registration current and into 'Active' status. Cancelled registration certificates cannot be renewed.

### **Continuing Education Requirement** In accordance with TSBDE Rule 116.6:

- a) A dental laboratory renewing a certificate must provide proof that the designated CDT has met the continuing education requirements of a recognized board of certification for dental technology, or its successor.
- b) A dental laboratory that meets the exemption qualifications in TSBDE Rule 116.5, in lieu of the requirement of subsection (a) of this section, proof, that the designated employee has completed at least 12 hours of continuing education during the preceding 12-month period. Continuing education hours may only be used for one renewal period.
- c) Acceptable continuing education shall be comprised of business management, infection control, and technical competency courses presented in seminars or clinics as accepted by a recognized organization of dentistry or dental technology, subject to the following requirements:
  - 1) The designated employee must complete at least one course in infection control annually.
  - 2) No more than one course in business management may be applied toward the annual continuing education requirement.
  - 3) Self-study in a course approved by a recognized organization of dentistry or dental technology may be taken for not more than four hours of the annual continuing education requirement.
- d) In lieu of furnishing proof of continuing education as set forth in TSBDE Rule 116.5, a dental laboratory may furnish proof that the designated dental technician has a current certification from a recognized board of certification for dental technology or its successor. Certification as "retired" does not qualify the technician. The lab owner or manager may be asked to provide copies of any required certification or continuing education documentation required to renew this registration.